Skip to content

Work with Related Components and Scenarios

You can add related Components with different filenames into a single Design to group revisions that belong to the same piece of work.

A Design is a grouping of one or more Components that represent the same piece of work as it evolves, see Key Concepts to learn more

With related Components together in a single Design you can:

  • Quickly switch between Scenarios across related Components using the Design navigation
  • Track progress, cost avoidance and history across the full lifecycle of the part you're working on

Add a Component

There are two ways to add a Component with a different filename to a Design. You can either Add an Existing Component or Upload a New Component.

Add an Existing Component

Add a Component that already exists in aP Design into your Design.

When should I use this option?

Use this when you already have a Component in aP Design. Perhaps an earlier revision of the part, that should belong to this Design.

With the Component you're working on open in the Evaluate view:

  1. Click New Component from the left Design navigation bar
  2. Select Add existing component
  3. Enter a name to search, then select a Component
  4. Select ADD TO DESIGN to confirm

The Component moves into the active Design, bringing its full Scenario and Iteration history with it. If the source Design becomes empty after the move, it is deleted automatically, and Base and Final markers are recalculated accordingly.

Upload a New Component

Import a new CAD file (with any filename) to create a new Component and initial Scenario as the next revision of the Design you're currently working in.

With the Component you're working on open in the Evaluate view:

  1. Click New Component, from the left Design navigation bar
  2. Select Upload new component
  3. In Scenario Name, provide a name for the initial Scenario
  4. Drag and drop the file or select it from your computer, then click SUBMIT

The new file appears as a Component inside the Design navigation. Inputs from the most recent costed iteration in the Design are inherited automatically.

Filename conflicts

If the filename you're uploading already exists as a Component in a different Design, the upload is safely aborted and the Component appears as a conflict so you can decide whether to add the existing Component into this Design instead.

Remove a Component

Remove a Component you no longer want grouped with the others in this Design.

When should I use this option?

Use this when a Component was added to the wrong Design, or no longer represents the same piece of work as the others in this Design.

With the Design open in the Evaluate view:

  1. Click the options button, , in the Design navigation bar, beside the Component you want to remove
  2. Select Remove from design
  3. Click REMOVE COMPONENT to confirm

The Component, along with its Scenarios and Iteration history, moves into a new Design of its own, and any Base or Final markers on the Component are reassigned accordingly.

Removing the last Component

You can't remove a Component if it's the only one in the Design.

Progress Across a Design

Progress tracking, Cost Avoidance and Annual Avoidance are calculated across all Components in a Design. For more information, see Track Progress.